logo
Home Donate to GBG
Georgeson Botanical Notes No. 4 Revised 2010

 

PDF Download (requires AdobeAcrobat Reader)

Seed and Plant Sources

The list of commercial sources does not include all possible seed and plant sources. The list reflects sources from which the Georgeson Botanical Garden has received seeds/plants during the past five years. No endorsement of companies should be implied by those listed, nor criticism intended of those not listed.

Alaska Sources
Ann’s Greenhouses, 780 Sheep Creek Rd, Fairbanks AK 99709
Basically Basil, PO Box 83271, Fairbanks AK 99708, www.basicallybasil.com
Denali Seed, PO Box 111425, Anchorage AK 99511, www.denaliseed.com
Driftwood Nurseriers (Larry Duffy), 7.2 Mile Chena Hot Springs Rd, PO Box 10462, Fairbanks AK 99710
Hawk’s Farm & Garden Center, 12 Mile Richardson Hwy PO Box 55759, North Pole AK 99705
Plant Kingdom, 620 Fiedeler Rd, Fairbanks AK 99709
Risse Greenhouses, 981 Risse Rd, Fairbanks AK 99712


Commercial Wholesale and Research Sources (seeds and plants not sold directly to the public, but may be found in many retail catalogs and local nurseries)
All American Selections, 1311 Butterfield Rd Suite 310, Downer’s Grove IL 60515 http://www.all-americanselections.org
Ball Seed Co., PO Box 335, West Chicago IL 60185 (wholesale only), www.ballseed.com
Goldsmith, PO Box 1349, Gilroy CA 95021, www.goldsmithseeds.com
Kieft Seeds Holland, PO Box 63, 1606 ZH Venhuizen Holland, www.kieftseeds.com
Lawyer Nursery, 950 Hwy 200 West, Plains MT 59859, www.lawyermursery.com
PanAmerican Seeds, PO Box 438, West Chicago IL 60186, www.panamseed.com
Song Sparrow Perennial Farm, 13101 E Rye Rd, Avalon WI 53505, www.songsparrow.com
USDA Plant Introduction Stations- NC7 Ames IA, www.ars-grin.gov/ars/MidWest/Ames
Garden Societies and Organizations with seed exchanges and sales for members
Alaska Native Plant Society, PO Box 141613, Anchorage AK 99514, aknps.org
Alaska Rock Garden Society, www.args.org
North American Rock Garden Society, PO Box 67, Millwood NY 10546, www.nargs.org
Hardy Fern Foundation, PO Box 60034, Richmond Beach WA 98160, www.hardyferns.org
Seed Saver’s Exchange, 3094 North Winn Rd, Decorah IA 52101, www.seedsavers.org


Retail Sources of Plants/Seeds
Applewood Seed Co., 5380 Vivian St, Aruada CO 80002, www.applewoodseed.com
Baker Creek Heirloom, 2278 Baker Creek Rd, Mansfield MO 65704, Seeds http://rareseeds.com
B&D Lilies, PO Box 2007, Port Townsend WA 98368, www.bdlilies.com
Bear Creek Nursery, PO Box 411, Northport WA 99157, www.BearCreekNursery.com
Big Dipper Farm, 26130 SE Valley Road, Black Diamond, WA 98010 www.bigdipperfarm.com
Caprice Farm Nursery, 10944 Mill Creek Rd SE, Aumsville OR 97325
Carolina Seeds, PO Box 2658 Hwy 105 Bypass, Boone NC 28607, www.carolinaseeds.com
Clause Seed, 100 Breen Rd, San Juan Bautista CA 95045
Companion Plants 7247 N Coolville Ridge Rd, Athens, OH 45701 www.companionplants.com
Connell’s Dahlias, 10616 Waller Rd East, Tacoma WA 98446, www.connells-dahlias.com
Cook’s Garden, PO Box 535, Londonderry VT 05148, www.cooksgarden.com
Crosman’s Seed Corp. PO Box 110 East Rochester, NY 14445 www.crosmanseed.com
Ed Hume Seeds, www.humeseeds.com
Eseeds.com Ltd, United Kingdon
F.W. Schumacher Co. Inc., 36 Spring Hill Rd, Sandwich MA 02563, www.treeshrubseed.com

Fedco Seeds, PO Box 520, Waterville ME 04903 www.fedcoseeds.com
Ferry-Morse Seed Co., PO Box 4938, Modesto Ca 95352, www.ferry-morse.com
Garden City Seeds, 1324 Red Crow Road, Victor, MT 59875
Germania Seed Co., 5978 N Northwest Hwy, Chicago IL 60631, www.germaniaseed.com
Gilbert H. Wild & Sons, PO Box 338, Sarcoxie MO 64862, www.gilberthwild.com
H.G. German Seeds Inc., PO Box 398, Smethport PA 16749
Heritage Harvest Seeds Box 40 RR3 Carman, Manitoba ROG OJO, www.
Heirloom Seeds. www.heirloomseeds.comheritageharvestseed.com
Gourmet Seed International, HC 12 Box 510, Tatum New Mexico 88267, www.gourmetseed.com
Harris Seeds, PO Box 24966, Rochester NY 14624-0966, www.harrisseeds.com
Henry Field’s Seed and Nursery Co., 415 N Burnett, Shenandoah IA 51602, www.HenryFields.com
High Country Gardens, 2902 Rufina St. Santa Fe, NM 87507, www.highcountrygardens.com
Home Harvest Seeds, 3807 Bank St, Baltimore MD 21224, www.homeharvestseeds.com
Horizon Herbs LLC., PO Box 69, Williams OR 97544-0069 www.horizonherbs.com
Irish Eyes & Garden City Seeds, PO Box 307, Thorp WA 98946, www.irish-eyes.
J.L. Hudson Seedsman, Box 337, LaHonda CA 94020, www.jlhudsonseeds.net
John Scheepers Kitchen Garden Seeds, 23 Tulip Dr PO Box 638, Bantam CT 06750 www.kitchengardenseeds.com
Johnny’s Selected Seeds, 1 Foss Hill Rd, Albion ME 044910, www.johnnyyseeds.com
Lilly Miller, www.lillymiller.com
Logee’s Greenhouse, 141 North St, Danielson CT 06239, www.logees.com
McClure & Zimmerman, PO Box 368, Friesland WI 53935, www.mzbulb.com
Mulberry Creek Herb Farm, 3312 Bogart Rd, Huron OH, www.mulberrycreek.com
New England Seed Company, www.neseed.com
Nichols Garden Nursery, 1190 N Pacific Hwy, Albany OR 97321, www.gardennursery.com
Park Seeds, 2 Parkton Ave, Greenwood SC 29649, www.parkseed.com
Reimer Seeds PO Box 236 Mount Holly, NC 28120, www.reimerseeds.com
Richters, Goodwood Ontario LOC 1A0 Canada, www.richters.com
Royal Sluis Inc., 1293 Harkins Rd, Salinas CA 93901
Rupp Seeds Inc., 17919 County Rd B, Wauseon OH 43567, www.ruppseeds.com
Sand Mountain Herbs, 321 County Road 18, Fyffe, AL 35971, www.sandmountainherbs.com
Seeds of Change, PO Box 15700, Santa Fe NM 87501, www.seedsofchange.com
Seeds of Distinction, PO Box 86 Station A, Toronto Ontario M9C 4V2 Canada, www.seedsofdistinction.com

Select Seeds, 180 Stickney Hill Rd, Union CT 06076, www.selectseeds.com
Seymour’s Selected Seeds, PO Box 1346, Randolph WI 53956, www.seymourseeduk.com/
Shepherd’s Garden Seeds, 30 Irene St, Torrington CT 06790, www.shepherdseeds.com
Stokes Seeds, PO Box 548, Buffalo NY 14240, www.stokeseeds.com
Summer Hill Seeds 13505 Hamilton Pike Rd, Whittington, IL 62897, www.summerhillseeds.com
Swan Island Dahlias, PO Box 700, Canby OR, www.dahlias.com
Territorial Seed Co., PO Box 157, Cottage Grove OR 97424, www.territorial-seed.com
Thompson & Morgan Seed Co., PO Box 1308, Jackson NJ, www.thompson-morgan.com
Thyme Garden Herb Company, 20546 Alsea Hwy, Alsea OR www.thymegarden.com
Tomato Growers Supply Inc., PO Box 60015, Fort Myers FL 33906 www.tomatogrowers.com
Trade Winds Fruit, www.tradewindsfruit.com/
Twilley Seeds, 121 Gary Rd, Hodges SC 29653, www.twilleyseed.com
Vaughan’s Seed Co., 5300 Katrine Ave, Downers Grove IL 60515
Vermont Bean Seed Co., Garden Ln, Fair Haven VT 05743, www.vermontbean.com
Vesey’s Seeds, Ltd., PO Box 9000, Calais ME 04619-6102, www.veseys.com
Victory Seed, PO Box 192, Molalla OR 97038 www.victoryseeds.com
W. Atlee Burpee & Co., 300 Park Ave, Warminster PA 18991, www.burpee.com
West Coast Seeds, 3925 64th St, Delta BC Canada V4K 3N2, www.westcoastseeds.com.
Whatcom Seed Company, seedrack.com

logo uafThe University of Alaska Fairbanks is an affirmative action, equal opportunity employer and educational institution

snras

For more information from the School of Natural Resources and Agricultural Sciences visit:

www.uaf.edu/snras
www.snras.blogspot.com

The University of Alaska Fairbanks Georgeson Botanical Garden PO Box 757200, Fairbanks, Alaska 99775 - (907)474-1944 - gbgardensuaf@gmail.com